PDA

View Full Version : CG lighting techniques used in compositing CG to live action

ciriaco
12-21-04, 05:05 AM
Hi there! This is my first time posting here but I've been visiting this site for a long time now. I find the content of this site very heplful and informative. Anyway, enough of these. I've got a few questions to ask and anyone is free to answer. Right now, we're in the midst of finishing a 3d animated film. A bunch of us here, being kinda bored right now at work have decided to do a some sort of spoof of our film. We're gonna use some of the film's characters and put them in a live action setting like our workplace and make them do some skits for our amusement. This will also serve as an rnd for all of us. Now on to the questions! Basically, I just want to ask what are the 3D lighting techniques that are being used in the vfx industry when compositing CG characters to live action bg plate. I'm already familiar with HDRI and have done some experiments with. But I also want to learn the tricks that the vfx guys have been using through the years. Like, I've seen guys from ILM shoot a grey sphere whenever a shot will require CG elements. Anybody has any idea what this is for and how this is used for light the CG scenes. From what I understand, this kinda help them determine the diffuse lighting in the live action set. Is this true? Im also thinking of shooting an object with a known color, kind of like those white cards used for white balancing, and using this to determine the color of the lights in the live action set. Anybody here done this before? And also where in the web can I find info on this? Any ideas or suggestions will be highly appreciated! Thanks!

eric

Sunstar
12-21-04, 08:55 PM